Competent Authority



The jurisdiction of the five Competent Authorities is as under :

Sr.No. Name of the Competent Authority Jurisdiction
1 Competent Authority, Chennai. States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamilnadu and Union territories of Pondicherry and Lakshdweep.
2 Competent Authority, New Delhi. States of Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Bihar, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal and Union territory of Chandigarh and National Capital Territory of Delhi.
3 Competent Authority, Kolkata. States of Arunachal Pradesh. Assam, Manipur, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Orissa, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal and Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
4 Competent Authority, Mumbai States of Gujarat, Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhatisgarh and Union territories of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

The area of jurisdiction of the Competent Authorities shall be on the basis of the address/residence of the detenu or the person against whom detention order has been issued or the person who has been charged under the relevant Acts. If there is more than one address or place of residence, the Competent Authority in whose jurisdiction the sponsoring or investigating agency is located, shall have the jurisdiction. In case of persons who do not have address or place of residence in India, the Competent Authority, in whose area of Jurisdiction the person is detained or charged, shall have the jurisdiction. In respect of a person convicted by a competent court of criminal jurisdiction outside India for an offence similar to an offence punishable under the Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act, 1985 with imprisonment for a term of five years or more, the Competent Authority who shall have jurisdiction shall be the Competent Authority in whose area of jurisdiction the illegally acquired property is located or the Competent Authority, who has been authorized by the Central Government by an order.